What are the five pillars of Islam?

Five pillars of islamIf you know nothing else about Islamic ritual and practice make sure you know this. These are known as the five pillars of Islam.

Shahadah: declaring there is no god except God and that Muhammad is God’s Messenger

Salat: ritual prayer five times a day

Zakat: giving 2.5% of one’s savings to the poor and needy

Sawm: fasting and self-control during the holy month of Ramadan

Hajj: pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in a lifetime if one is able

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s